PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Special

One of the reasons for making the long-planned visit to Arnside yesterday was for Ken to give me this book and I am delighted with the thoughtful gift. The book belonged to Mrs K's mother and they wanted it to go to a good home. Well, it has found its way to a good home - I will treasure this beautiful little book. I am enjoying browsing through it and will continue to do so. Thank you so much for thinking of me. 

The Encyclopaedia of Needlework was written by Thérèse de Dillmont, an Austrian needleworker and writer. It was first published in 1886 and was translated into many different languages. It is a collection of designs, techniques, stitches across all aspects of needlework. The illustrations are wonderful. It is small - 11 x 16 cm, a perfect size for handling, it has a beautiful binding and cover (not yellow as my photo has turned out - a lovely sage green). A very special book indeed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.