Wanderers13

By Wanderers13

Thrown cheese scones

John joined me on the black paint challenge this morning, a pleasant chat made the time pass quickly. About half way through I had a longing for a cheese scone, a rarity in our kitchen in recent years. After cleaning up, black paint is messy, I threw together the ingredients, the main one being Mull Cheddar Cheese, most of it into the mix with around a quarter grated onto the base of the scone and some on top. A few days ago a neighbour called in with a jar of her lovely strawberry jam, just perfect with a cheese scone.

Years ago when in the northeast with my mum we called into a cafe for a scone and coffee, I asked for jam as well, with good humour the assistant whispered ‘cheese and jam, don’t say that too loud in here, it will cause a riot’.

As you can see from the photo it wasn’t only the scone mix I threw together. When they were ready everything was dumped on a tray to eat outside. The black painting is finished, we now have to gear ourselves up to paint the timber cladding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.