suehutton

By suehutton

Hook and Shadow

No commitments in the diary today. I said to Len, why don't we go to the Grange garden centre near Melton and have some lunch there. So we did.

Len was a bit unsure. He said it was a long way away. I told him it would take only 40 minutes and it's not a difficult route. He handled it fine.

We sat in the shade of the trees in the garden which was very welcome. The furniture is stolidly Alpine and a bit uncomfortable. Perhaps I should have asked for cushions.

Len had a double stacked cheese and bacon burger and afterwards thought he'd have spag bhol for tea. I declined. My salad was disappointing. Too much lettuce and the avocado wasn't ripe. Neither was the beetroot pickled. The onion slices were eye watering. I said as much to the lady on the till so she gave me the hand cut fries for free. And they were good.

I took a slice of orange and lemon cake home. I can assure you it's delicious and I've only had a quarter of it. The Grange is known for its cakes.

Despite towering and ominous clouds, it hasn't rained here.

I liked the minimalist feel of this black hook and shadow on the blue wall. We did a small wander round the plants in the garden centre where I attempted a shoot through in the Heuchara. Really need a bit more foreground for it to work. (see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.