Chopspix

By Chops13

My ‘Gym’

About 2 months before I retired I did a ‘boot camp’ with some colleagues. It confirmed what I already knew. I was in terrible shape.
A friend, who retired the same day as me, informed me that he was going to go the ‘fitness classes’ at the local Leisure Centre. I decided that was a good idea, and while the classes were very challenging at first, I gradually rounded into better shape. I loved the classes because all I had to do was do whatever the instructor told us to do, and I got a full body workout. Coffee after class was a bonus. I went at least 3 days a week.

The missing ingredient was cardio fitness, but the Centre soon bought a class set of Spin Bikes. I was now going to six classes a week. That was my routine for over ten years.
Then the Pandemic hit. The Centre closed. I had to fend for myself. I soon realized that daughter had stored much of her fitness equipment in our carport as her apartment was too small. I moved the car out and set up a gym in its place. When it became too cold, I moved into our utility room. My gym has been there ever since. I added the bike late in the pandemic. I have no need to go back to the Centre.

The most important piece of equipment is the little black square, which is my bluetooth speaker. Can’t exercise without music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.