What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Windswept Larch, Fellbarrow

Back on the Wainwright trail again today, with a shortish walk over Low Fell & Fellbarrow, near Loweswater. As well as my regular camera, I also took my IR converted Olympus with me - as I photographed this tree on the 20th June last year, and wanted to return to shoot it in Infra Red. 

When we first got to the tree, it was fairly overcast, I waited about 15 minutes and got a brief burst of sun on it. Settled down to lunch, and by the end, the sky had cleared a little to give the characteristically black sky and white clouds. On editing, I thought the simpler shot with the overcast sky isolated the tree much better and created a picture of simplicity that was much closer to what I had in mind.

Just goes to show - IR shouldn't be reserved for bright sunny days.

Low Fell: 66/214
Fellbarrow: 67/214

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.