Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

IN LOVING MEMORY OF MR. T - A VERY SPECIAL MAN

Mr. HCB and I have been privileged to have known the lovely Mr. and Mrs. T, both Blippers, for about a year - in fact, since soon after Mrs. T’s mother, Deanna, also a Blipper, died in May 2022.

Sadly, Mr. T died yesterday and I wanted my Blip today to pay tribute to him and the way he coped with his illness and mobility issues and also to the loving, tender and warm-hearted devotion of his lovely wife, Amanda, Mrs. T.  

We have visited them many times and have been given a very warm welcome on every visit.  Mr. T and I had an understanding - I would tease him about the fact that he always had a bowl of Lindt chocolates in front of him and he would say if I behaved myself, he would let me have one of his chocolates.  In truth, I usually managed to smuggle about two or three out of the bowl, but of course, he always knew what I was doing and they even bought me several boxes of chocolates over the months - hence him calling me Madame Chocolat and of course, Mr. HCB then became Monsieur Chocolat.

It has been a growing friendship and we loved going to visit.  I always took the Silly Saturday Gang with me - and Amanda, of course, had her own gang, upstairs on top of her wardrobe - so we often had little chats upstairs with her gang and mine - leaving Mr. HCB chatting to Mr. T downstairs.  

What always impressed us was the wonderful shining example of love that we saw every time we visited - they obviously adored one another and this picture I took last September shows that love.  Amanda has championed the cause of those carers who are often forgotten because they care for their loved ones at home but you only had to be with them for a few minutes to see how much they both cared for and loved one another.  

Both Mr. T and Amanda had a wonderful sense of humour - and although he sometimes got his words jumbled up - we usually ended up rolling around with laughter and of course, after all the laughter, there was invariably another chocolate and if he didn’t offer one, I would pinch one!

We will miss you Mr. T but will still be visiting Amanda - so I hope you have left me some chocolates -  and if they do have Lindt chocolates in heaven, and you felt like sending me a box, just remember I like the plain ones best!

I have made a collage of some of the shots taken on our visits - when we had so much fun - we hope to see you soon, Amanda!

With our love Madame and Monsieur Chocolat xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.