The Way I See Things

By JDO

Waspish

I posted one of these wasp beetles a couple of weeks ago, but this is a better photo because it was taken in flat light. I love its whiskers and hairy legs, and its strange eyes that curve around the antennal insertions. I know perfectly well that what you see is a function of the way the brain processes the information it receives from your eyes, but I can't quite shed the feeling that beetles with eyes like this must see everything in half-moons, like the bokeh effects you can produce by putting a filter with a shape cut out of it over the front of a lens. Anyway, stepping around my physiologically inaccurate fantasies, I put some basic facts about wasp beetles in my previous post, so if you'd like to read more about this handsome creature, please refer back to that.

My second-favourite photo of the day, and R's favourite, is the juvenile Great Spotted Woodpecker I've posted on my Facebook page. A few days ago R and I saw an adult male GSW feeding peanut pieces to one of his offspring on this feeder, but by the time I'd scuttled off and fetched a camera, Dad had tired of these ongoing parental duties and left. Tonight I walked into the kitchen to make a cup of tea, and immediately saw a juvenile asleep on the feeder - or at least, clinging to it with massive claws, but motionless and with its eyes closed. Once again I rushed off for the camera, which was upstairs in my study because I'd just been uploading this morning's files onto the computer. And once again, by the time I skidded back into the kitchen, the babe (predictably) had woken up. I like the "What's going on?" mood of the image I captured just before the woodpecker flew, but it wasn't the shot I'd wanted, and therefore didn't quite trump the beetle.

In other news, a Southern Hawker emerged from our little wildlife pond overnight. It had quit the scene before R made today's first circuit of the garden to check for Odonata activity, but left tell-tale evidence behind. Of course, it would be stupid to consider sitting out there in a deck chair with a torch tonight, just in case of another dragon emergence... but... well, anyway, I talked myself out of it.

Oh, and in other other news, I bought a second mirrorless camera body this afternoon (a Canon R7 this time), and received the usual excellent service from LCE in Leamington. Happy times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.