RexComu1

By RexComu1

I saw three ships.

I took this from platform two of our local railway station on my late return from Edinburgh. We only have two platforms but this one has great views over the Firth of Forth. I've often thought about recording the view from here at the same time of day over a period of 365 days just to record the changing weather moods and sunrises, then I thought, naw, I'll have to get out of bed at the weekend.

This view overlooks Kinghorn harbour and beach and in this shot, highlighted in the distance by the sun, is North Berwick Law one of the many volcanic plugs that fringe the estuary - one of them even has a famous castle on top of it. On the horizon past North Berwick is the Bass Rock, yet another volcanic plug colonised by Gannets. Just before North Berwick is Gullane, colonised by golfers.

There are three ships in this photograph, but one of them is far away...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.