SonofLionel

By SonofLionel

Spotted It?

Been off blipping for a while. Combination of surgeries, local events, car accidents involving family, and loss of focus - literally and figuratively. 
Back now.
The main pic is what I spotted and managed to snap with my old camera and not best lens. 
My D7100 has lost its ability to manually focus and as a DX, rather than FX, it has a slightly limited view.
The extra pic will tell you what I saw.  It is a Golden Oriole. We get them every year in the woods behind the house and they come, breed, produce young, then fly away until next late spring.
They are the most difficult bird to snap. This, amazingly, is my best pic ever!  Even with the permanently-set auto-focus hunting for something to fix on!  Being bright yellow, with black wings should make them easy, but that is exactly why they hide in the canopy and dash between the branches. They are an easy target for predators as well!
I have just acquired a new camera, due to be picked up in a couple of days. My new D850 will, I know, be a different prospect altogether. Fingers-crossed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.