While on my runs

By waipushrink

The aftermath

At the end of January a rainstorm unlike almost any other created massive flooding in Auckland/Tamaki Makerau and indeed most of Aotearoa/New Zealand. Almost unprecedented amounts of rain fell and the waste water system failed to cope.

The water racing down the creek about 15 m below the lowest part of daughter C's home created a thunderous roar, and crushed small trees and washed away banks. 

Today we visited her and I had a short walk on the path running sort of beside the creek. It was very short, as the path was a series of large puddles, and much of the gravel of the path had been washed away by the floods. (I did not want to risk slipping over)

My photo shore water damage to the bank and lots of stuff deposited high up the bank (I estimated 7 or 8 metre up). A pallet is one of the highest deposits

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.