Northern Star

By Lifferz

Explosion

Not just an explosion of taste sensation

I brought this rose petal jam back from Greece and have been enjoying it every few days on toast. I was rather hoping to use it with meat as a kind of Persian inspired dish.

Now my Greek is pretty rusty (some could say very much non-existent) but I’m not seeing the warning on the label about how to store it best.

I’ve kept it in the fridge and for some reason there appears to have been a major chemical reaction as the contents has changed from a liquid to a solid, somewhat in the way honey changes. It has then changed colour at the top and then forcefully exploded out of the lid and leaked as a mushy liquid all over the fridge shelf, the entire shelf not just a jar shaped puddle! Apparently it seems the contents has almost doubled in volume. It was right at the front of the shelf near the milk so it didn’t get frosted or frozen. I can’t understand what has happened. The bottom of the jar appears to be leaking and although I can’t see any cracks I am pretty sure it’s not in tact. Time to recycle sadly. On a plus side the kitchen smells amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.