Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3100. Silly Saturday….

……and the usual suspects…..
Much hilarity at lunch today as my youngest grandson was sat next to my hubby and they mucked about for the entire lunchtime…..both ended up covered in mayo too….

My youngest decided that he needed to apply for the UK Citizen’s ID card, which is not free and not at all easy to apply for as if you don’t have photo ID already, (which he doesn’t or he wouldn’t need it!) means you have to obtain a referee who has an “official” profession.  Technically he would have had to pay an exorbitant fee to his GP as well as the £30 for the ID card.  Thankfully he was able to find someone who knows him and has an official position so hopefully the application will be fine.

I also had to upload some documents to my savings and investment platform which I have now done twice and still have to do them for a third time because they weren’t “authorised” by, yes you’ve guessed, someone in an “official” profession!  Plus they told me an authorised copy of a bank statement would be ok but their site won’t accept that as proof so I’ve had to take a copy of my pension letter and now need to get that authorised too….it never seems to end.  If I was a criminal or a tax avoider I’d have absolutely no problem with all this but because I am just an ordinary honest citizen I have so many hoops to jump through!

The whole voter ID stuff at the moment in the UK is explicitly designed to stop people voting as it’s so hard to obtain the photo ID in the first place and expensive too.  Thank fully we have current passports but I can see lots of people having huge problems with all this come the next general election, it’s wrong and we should have a national free ID card system so that no-one is disadvantaged!  Rant over….for now!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.