Mikey88

By Mikey88

Herb Robert Buds

For a couple of weeks at this time of year, the setting sun shines between the house and the laurel hedge and lights up a patch of garden. The light only lasts for about an hour, so at the end of a sunny day, I can often be found crawling around underneath the buddleia branches looking for a macro shot against the light. This is one which I took this evening.

It shows a couple of herb robert buds, one of which is just beginning to open. It was somewhat uncomfortable trying to get the shot, and even more so later, when I was trying to shoot a spider. I think it was worth it.

Been a beautiful day - wall to wall sunshine. Got the shopping out of the way this morning and worked in the garden during the afternoon. Used my new extending hedge trimmer (which terrifies me!) and trimmed the laurel hedge (as high as I could reach), the holly bush and another bush which I don't know the name of, but which grows rapidly and could take over the garden if left.

My wife planted various tubs and pots, then spent the rest of the afternoon cutting canes and drilling holes in them to make a bee house which she is going to make with her class to sell at a coffee morning later in the term.

I'm determined to get out of bed really early tomorrow morning and get down to the river and catch the early morning light and any wildlife which may be around. I haven't had much success with this over the last week or two!

Hope the weather as good for you over the weekend as it has been for us today. It is a fairly positive forecast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.