An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Stourhead Gardens...

Backblip


This is one of about five photos I took at Stourhead Garden as the visit proved a bit of an adventure, before we had to abandon it.  Well there's only so much adventure I can handle!

The day started well.  Hot water fixed so enjoyed a more leisurely shower this morning without worrying about the hot water running out.  Spent a little while planning the rest of our days.  A lot depends on my friend Mae who we're hoping to see but she's had a horrible stomach bug the last few days.  Fingers crossed we can see her and treat her to lunch before we head home.  We have another week to organise that.

Headed off to Stourbridge in time for lunch.  Jeez, that was expensive.  The couple behind us were aghast at having to pay £5 for a sausage roll.  D's tiny piece of quiche and a couple of lettuce leaves was over £6 and my tuna mayo sandwich (still looking for the mayo) was £4.50.  The wise people had brought a picnic.

After our meagre but expensive lunch, we went to buy our tickets for the gardens (power chairs not allowed in the house).  The very nice man who sold us our tickets went over the route with us, explaining there were a couple of steep hills on the path around the lake but since my wheelchair has "sturdy wheels" they shouldn't be a problem, so off we went.

Turn left as you go out the door, down the zig zag path, through the Spread Eagle Courtyard to the gardens opposite, we were told.  So far so good...but not for long!

Turns out the zig zag path down to the Courtyard is very, VERY, VERY steep!  And not just steep, but has a jaunty camber too (weirdly I never noticed the camber of a path until I got my wheels!  Even the slightest sideways slope is noticeable!)   

I hesitated at the top saying to D that I wasn't sure me and my wheels were up to the challenge.  D also hesitated but pondered that as the guide said the whole route was wheelchair accessible lots of other people and chairs must have managed it.  I sat there feeling like I was at the top of a rollercoaster...then decided to stop being a wuss and get on with it.

I started off very slowly, so far so good.  I could see the first sharp bend ahead of me and focussed on getting there slowly....but despite going as slowly as I could, I realised that my wheels sliding and picking up speed but not only that, the camber was forcing me to the right hand side of the path, which was the steepest and narrowest part, and I couldn't stop!  The angle of the path and steepness of the path was just too much for the automatic brake on my chair!  Arghhhh!

As I slid ever faster to the corner, convinced I was going career down and  be tipped out, in an automatic move of self preservation I angled the wheels of my chair sideways and reached out and grabbed a wooden post that marked the corner.  There was a wooden lip on the side of the path and as my turned wheels they got jammed against it!  I stopped moving.  Thank heavens! 

Clinging to the pole I looked at D and said "what now?!" I am still praising myself for not cursing.  Loudly!  

The path ahead was just as steep and had another two corners to negotiate! The path behind was too awkward and steep to turn back to go up!  I had no crutches with me so couldn't stand up and walk (not actually sure I could have walked up or down that slope!)  Nothing else for it, going to have to try again to get to the bottom and then worry about how to get back up!

Keeping my wheels facing sideways I gingerly moved over to the outside of the path as slowly as I possibly could, and keeping my wheels slightly turned, I finally made it down.  Phew!

We arrived at the Courtyard which had a lovely little art gallery (bought a little jug that I will use as a vase) and a lovely ice creak kiosk.  Bought a very welcome ice cream to cool me down after my sweat inducing experience on the zig zag path!  

Composure regained, we headed into the gardens, looking forward to the walk round the lake.   We only got about 50 yards when we were confronted by the next steep hill.  Now, if I hadn't just experienced the fear on the path down, I may well have been brave enough to tackle it, but after my earlier experience I was understandably very nervous.  

We sat at the top whilst eating our ice cream and I tried to pluck up the courage to give it a go, but I was all out of bravery.  The man's voice telling us about the steep hills in the garden (and this first one wasn't the one's he'd pointed out on the map) and saying "your wheels should make it, didn't inspire me.  He clearly thought I'd manage the zig zag path and hadn't mentioned it at all, so in the end I decided no, I wasn't up to taking the risk.

As we sat there, a woman pushing an elderly lady in a manual wheelchair reached the bottom of the hill.  She took a deep breath and began pushing but only got about 10 feet before she had to help the elderly lady out of the chair so she could walk up the hill using her walking stick, while she pushed the empty chair.  As she passed us, the old lady back in the chair looking exhausted, she shook her head at us and said "nightmare."   Decision made.  

Thankfully we didn't have to tackle the zig zag hill on the way back as it's possible to drive down to the Courtyard (oh if only we'd known that at the start! So I waited there and D brought the car down.  Phew!  Bye bye Stourhead!

Stopped at Waitrose for some supplies, headed back to the Calf Shed and after a coffee and almond croissant, D headed to the golf range and I painted then crocheted.  

We have laughed so much this evening at the whole zig zag path scenario. Now I am safely out of the situation, it's absolutely hilarious!  (I am going to email them though, as it could have had a very different outcome)

There was a bench seat at the bottom of the first section of the zig zag path and a couple were sitting on it.  I can still see the horror on their faces as they realised I was skidding out of control towards them! OMG!  Hahahahahaha!

Never a dull moment! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.