CameraHappy

By CameraHappy

Black and White Era

This evening we will be connecting with extended family to go through some old photos, one of my favorite things.

The method of studio photography was very different. People did not often smile, held very still for a specific pose, and looked a bit stiff. In one photo of a school class, all the boys had their arms crossed, while the girls had theirs relaxed. I think that was so the boys would be less fidgety!

I spend time restoring old photos. It is sometimes difficult to decide on how much to edit, as some of the old scratches add character to the photo. I have drawn the line with fixing the areas that are distracting to the people in the photo, especially around faces. One of my photography instructors suggested, rather than scanning old photos, to take a picture of the old photo. This is what I have done for today's blip.

Let me tell you a little about the photo. It is a picture of my mom with her parents and my dad's grandparents. They lived in the same area and were about the same age. Mom was the youngest of 14 children, though not all survived at birth. Dad was the oldest of 9 children. Both were born in 1924, but my maternal grandmother was at the end of her child-bearing years and my paternal grandmother, at the beginning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.