SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Badgers

The best of the weather was forecast to be first thing, so I left my BnB at 07:30 to walk to Portmadoc. I had time to take some attractive lanes and footpaths, and got a view across the Glaslyn estuary (see extra). 

As planned, I was 2/3 of the way across "The Cob" at low tide, allowing me to reach Cai Ballast (Ballast Island). On the way I had to cross a samphire "forest" (see extra). At the island I became the first person to take its Turf zone!

My first train was a 10-minute special back across The Cob, passing the Railway's locomotive works. There's always plenty of action, as they also work on locomotives and rolling stock for other railways. It says a lot about changes in health and safety, but as a boy under 10, several times when my dad had business in Boston Lodge, and wanted me out of the way, he'd drive across from Portmadoc, leaving me to run across The Cob alone and find him somewhere in the loco works. Sensational fun for me!

Back in Portmadoc, I took a scheduled train the full length of the line to Blaenau Ffestiniog. Hauled by one of the line's original double fairlies, there are great views for much of the journey. These locos are the Ffestiniog Railway's famous solution to the narrow-gauge challenge to get power around tight curves. They are effectively two separate (0-4-0) locomotives stuck back-to-back and articulated.

In Blaenau, I filmed the train beginning its return to Portmadoc, and took a still for my Blip. By then the rain had begun - the natural meteorological state for Blaenau! - but I needed food. It's a very deprived town, and nowhere could I find "interesting" beer. 

My mainline train was cancelled again - due to badgers having dug a sett under the line! - but this time there was a replacement bus service. Hence I'm on schedule to reach Penicuik tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.