Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Common Evening-Primrose

This poor evening-primrose was massive and covered with buds. And then a deer ate it overnight. But! The deer did leave one undamaged branch, and it is now blooming. It is also now inside a wire cage, in an effort to give it a chance to leaf back out and maybe even bloom some more. Meanwhile, it looks like there are a bunch more buds on this one uneaten stem. I'm going to try to see if another flower opens this evening so I can watch it open. This photo was taken before the sun was up this morning.

I will also try to gather some seeds so that I can strew them about in my wildflower garden. This particular plant was given to me by a friend. I used to have some years ago, but they disappeared. I'm glad to have it again. And very annoyed at the deer.

Late edit: here's a video of last night's flower (Tuesday) opening. In real time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.