Further my skills

By H0tamer

Manhole

Telefonica/Vodafone is laying cables in the area of our village. To a transmission power, but also to the next village. They are building some kind of web.
The cable channels/pipes are laid in the earth. A mixture of Baltic and German workers join forces together. They use a Ditch Witch to pull the pipes hundreds of metres through the earth.
At one side of our village a fiber optic cable is laid too. You can see the orange pipe in my picture. (Rumours are that in October glass fibre technology will be available for our internet connection too.)

What made me take this photo was the manhole. I would not expect a manhole of plastic. Even when they call it polycarbonate. I would expect reinforced concrete. After all, it must be able to carry agricultural machines and big trucks.
Being a curious guy, I had a look at the producer's website. And oh wonder, obviously these plastic manholes can carry at least 50,000 kg. I would never have expected that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.