Pictorial blethers

By blethers

From both sides now ...

Echoes of Frank Sinatra - we used to listen to Sinatra of an evening when we were not long married, and I can hear his voice now singing these words, which came into my head when I chose this photo for my blip, in which the hills of Arran are framed by some bushes at the end of the Ardyne shore on this side of of the Firth of Clyde rather than looming above me.

It was straight back into routine today with church at which I was doing the Intercessions as well as singing; we weren't even late as I'd managed to keep up the early bed habits from the holiday and wasn't as dozy as usual in the morning. I was, however, suffering horribly from caffeine withdrawal after four days of having two large Americanos at breakfast and now reverting to tea, with the coffee held back till after church ...

Spent much of the afternoon catching up on the papers and falling asleep amid speculation about the future of Russia and the status of Putin, as the rain fell determinedly outside and the day seemed a washout. And then, suddenly, the sun appeared; the patio steamed briefly and was dry again; a walk seemed imperative. That's why I was at Ardyne, rejoicing in the fact that unlike my childhood end-of-Arran-holiday miseries (no more seaside for 10 months) I could enjoy much the same experiences at home - apart from the hills. It was warm and beautiful, and the cows (young bulls?) lying in the field beside the road looked clean and furry and content. 

No, I didn't watch Glastonbury. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.