Scottish Flyer

By ianjardine

"Mayday, Mayday, Mayday"

Yes I know I have been absent from here for a while. Far too long, checking today it's been some 6 weeks since I last posted here. Sorry folks....

Lots have gone on; a burglary, illness, and being selected for command training at short notice which has required long hours of study and travel around the country. Life is slowly settling down now so I plan on getting more images completed.

So, why the title? Well, after 26 years flying I had to announce these words to Air Traffic Control only minutes after this image was captured on my iPad. The view is of a thunderstorm over Rome captured as we climbed out on a flight back to the UK. Some minutes later alarm bells rung....

The problem? The cabin altitude was climbing due to a leak. No major drama though as it's something we train for. Seat belt signs on, Passsenger Oxygen deployed and an Emergency Descent back down to a safe altitude completed before diverting to Nice, South France for an uneventful landing. Everyone was ok although understandably a few were a little anxious and not happy at staying the night in Nice before flying home next morning.

Am I getting a day off as a thank you? No! I'm just about to drive to Glasgow to do some flights out of there this weekend.

I promise to hopefully capture something to post while away.

Ian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.