WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

It's all go

Tourist trap Lagrasse on a sunny Monday evening, with pretty much everything closed. The empty street was livened up by what our late neighbour Fernand used to call trompettes de Jericho.

It was a bit cooler and windier today. Yesterday was ridiculously hot, and I spent part of it slaving over a hot stove in preparation for hosting the last book group meeting before the summer break. I was trying to make it easy for myself, with an onion tart plus dips and nibbles, but Carrefour had run out of pitta bread, so I had to make some. Given how rarely I make it, it was at least acceptable. And there is now loads in the freezer.

We talked about Tessa Hadley's Everything Will Be All Right (my choice). Most of us enjoyed it, while agreeing it was a lightweight read and not exactly ground-breaking -- like an English Anne Tyler. "I'm tired of reading about comfortable middle-class people," said K.

A contrast then to Spill Simmer Falter Wither, which I finished today. Oof! Ray is definitely not middle class, and the final section knocks you for six (even though it's already clear there won't be a happy ending). Sara Baume is a very good writer with a unique voice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.