The Way I See Things

By JDO

Smiler

I had very little time for photography today, but I quickly set up the R7 this morning, and trotted off down the garden to try it out. My snap review is that it produces very sharp images when you can get it to focus on the thing you want it to look at, but at the moment its attention is prone to wander off in odd directions. I'm going to have to do more reading and research to find the best combination of menu, button and dial settings to get it working for me efficiently, so that will be a priority task for next week.

If this Large Red Damselfly looks to be wearing a slightly forced photograph smile, it's probably because I was pointing the camera at him for about a minute before I was confident enough of the focus to actually press the shutter button. By that stage he'd clearly reached the end of his tether, because when R arrived at the pond a few seconds later and said, "Oh look - have you seen th- " he went "ENOUGH!!", and took off into the trees. 

Shortly after this, R's sister and brother-in-law arrived for a visit. Even though they only live about three hours drive away we don't see them very often - and definitely not often enough - but they're on a kind of Round Britain Tour at the moment, and are staying with us overnight. This has given us the opportunity to catch up on nearly eighteen months worth of chat, and since lunch we've pretty much talked all four legs off the kitchen table. It's been an excellent day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.