In An Instant

By MrRosewarne

'One Year of Blipping'

Finally made it to 365 days without missing a day.

I've seen a few of these done really well before, so thought I'd give it a go, but today probably wasn't a great day to be experimenting with our awful weather.

We had a record June rainfalls overnight and woke up this morning to find 2 leaks in our new roof (which is now 95% complete). One in the bathroom at one of the newly installed skylights and one at our fireplace where the flue penetrates the roofing. I sent a text message to our builder at 6:30 this morning and he had his roof plumber at the house within an hour to fix the issues. I can't tell you how great these builders have been. They are very fussy and take great pride in their work.

Anyway, the rain finally stopped just before lunchtime and I thought I'll go and get my supplies from our local Mitre 10 store. Steel wool, a little LED torch, gas firelighter and headed home to have a quick practise run before tea. I think I've got the idea.

I waited until after dark and set off out the back paddocks with my camera bag and equipment, set my self up and found it pretty difficult on my own to set the camera on 10 sec. delay, run down to the correct position, light the steel wool and turn the torch off before the exposure started. Phew. I had 4 goes, the first one I used the 50mm lens and it wasn't wide enough, the second go I changed to the 17 - 40 wide angle lens, but didn't quite get myself centered in the frame and cut off about a third of the shot, the third shot wasn't too bad but still cut off a little and as I just pushed the shutter for the fourth shot the heavens opened up and rain crashed down. You should have seen me try yo pack up my gear in the dark tripod, camera, equipment etc. etc. and then run home through the pouring rain. Almost collapsed as I got in the door. But I thought I had at least one shot that was useable.

So here it is.

Thanks to everyone in this blip community for their kindness, generosity, helpful hints and advice and encouragement long the way. I really feel like I've learnt a lot about the camera and what my eyes see along the journey.

I have been very fortunate to have met some of the great blippers along the way and look forward to meeting more of you some day. I feel that I've also made some great friends here who know who they are so thanks very much.

Thanks for looking.
Have a great weekend all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.