PandaPics

By pandammonium

Back to college

While Mr Pandammonium does no more than hobble to the sofa after his achievement yesterday, I set off to day two of the writing retreat.

We did a bit of writing first; I tidied up my piece for potential publication in the college’s review and emailed it to the lady who runs the group.

Then we had a couple of hours of readings. The lady who runs it asked if I had anything to read. I didn’t have anything new, but I did have a ridiculous poem I wrote when I was at school. It made everyone laugh, anyway. She didn’t ask me to send it for potential publication in the college’s review. She did ask another lass, though, who’d written a marvellous piece with a killer first line and a killer last line.

After we’d heard all the readings, it was lunchtime. I ate outside – but in the shade given it was 31°C – with a lady whose life coincided with one of my characters. The lady said it was ok to use what she told me. I need to have a chat with my character about that time in her life.

Then it was back for more writing. It’s the most writing I’ve done for ages, and it was good to get back into it. Yesterday, we talked about the benefits of writing buddies; meetings with my writing buddies had fizzled out, but, as luck would have it, one of them messaged about restarting them. We’re meeting in a few weeks’ time, so I’m hoping I’ll get back into writing more frequently – maybe even get into that routine I’ve been hoping would magically happen.

All too soon, it was time to go home. The writing retreat was definitely a good idea; I got a lot out of it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.