CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Hedgehog cactus, Echinopsis tubiflora, flowers

I went to water the pot plants in the cabin on the patio and was delighted to see that some of the cactus plants were in full flower. As usual I hadn't been keeping a close eye on the cabin's plants so had missed these flowers' stalks forming and then beginning to bloom. The flowers only last a day or so so I had to grab a picture while I could. I would say that each flower is about five inches in diameter.

I moved the pot out onto the patio table to be able to get up close to it with a macro lens, and to get as much available light as possible. It was late in the afternoon after I'd returned from the market and I was very tired, so I didn't set up a tripod and relied once again on shooting hand held.

I'm not sure what the name of this cactus is but it seems to be thriving with my neglect. It does like thew high temperatures that the cabin produces, being well insulated. I also give a little heat in winter and that insulation means that the temperature remains  above freezing throughout the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.