Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Somerton Tardis

The thing with being away is you always have things to catch up on when you get home: I missed Father's Day and My Dad's 91st birthday on 24th June, but left cards before we travelled. Needing to get a present, I stopped off at an off-licence in Somerton, Newport (South Wales UK) to buy a bottle of Pussers Rum as it's the only one my dad wants from his Royal Navy days and 'rum ration'.  Just along from the off-licence is Somerton Tardis (that's it's name!)- a police box from the last century.

Forty years ago it was freshly painted blue and a short while later, overnight, someone painted a scarf around it. It was very well done and hit the media who wanted a PC to stand alongside it for a newspaper article. A colleague, Phil Smith, was chosen. I think it was last year, the box was painted again and the scarf vanished causing a stir. It looks like another has been freshly painted and hopefully good for another forty years!  The blipfoto shows the new scarf!

When we arrived my dad had lugged two 8 feet long concrete posts from his car across his front lawn. He wanted me to help him carry them further and put upright two feet in the ground. They were blooming heavy!  I told him off but he shrugged and said "if it kills me so be it!"  He's amazing for 91 - doing cryptic puzzles and online social media, banking, etc!

I think there wil be plenty more birthdays to come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.