ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Diamond Dogs

My wheels have been ground smooth, painted, diamond cut, lacquered and fitted with brand new tyres. The whole process has taken nearly three weeks, but today they were finally refitted to the car!
I cannot fault the finish - see the small inset photo for how bad they were before - and the attention to detail is impressive. The wheel centre caps are aligned with the “MSport” badges and the locking wheel nuts are opposite the valves. On all four wheels. It seems the guys at Top Wheels share my OCD for things like that! It goes without saying that the insides of the wheels were just as clean and polished as the outsides.
I say “were”, because a day of rain coupled with all the holes dug in the roads nearby for a replacement gas main, mean that mud is already building up. I must make the effort to clean them more often - but not with any sort of acidic spray, I’ve been warned. I shall heed that warning, given how much this little exercise has cost me!
If you’re in the South Cumbria/North Lancashire area and need your alloys refurbished, I can definitely recommend Top Wheels in Morecambe. Greg and his team take real pride in their work - a rare commodity these days - and deliver a great service.
You will note from the photo that I have parked well away from the kerb. A practice I intend to rigorously adopt from now on as I do not want to see even the smallest scuff on these wheels going forward.
Of course, I do have another problem now. The shiny wheels really show up the scratches on the rest of the car, so my next trip will be to the bodyshop to see how much it would cost to put it right. It’s going to be an expensive summer…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.