Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Through the Magnifying Glass

I was reading about the use of old and unusual lenses on modern cameras, and also recalled a technique about using a magnifying glass in lieu of a macro lens. So I grabbed the large magnifying lens inherited from my dad and headed out into the garden to experiment.

My first target was a ladybird sitting inside an allium seed head. This was when I discovered that holding a fairly heavy lens in one hand while operating the camera in the other is not that easy; avoiding overly distracting reflections is also a challenge. However I persevered and am quite happy with this image as "something different".

My next target, some sea holly (eryngium, extra) is arguably more successful, but as this is Tiny Tuesday the little ladybird won out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.