AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Blue poles

On this wet day there was no blue sky or water. All the blue constructed environment looked drear so I headed to the park in the hope of some interesting light effects and good luck with the blue. I didn't notice the blue look of the bird perches and their steel rings until I got the main photo off the camera. They look different in different light.

There's some true blue sky in my extra. Yesterday my walking group walked from Minnamurra to Kiama on the south coast, about two hours by train. The photo shows the awe inspiring geological formations of basalt dykes in the Bombo headland quarry and geological site. It's as well they survived as basalt was quarried here between 1880 and the 1920s for use in rail and road construction. Mechanisation in the later 1880s resulted in large volumes of blue metal production from basalt, making Kiama the main centre of supply. 

Thanks for hosting Steveng. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.