Marionb

By Marionb

Cocooning...

A day-long drizzle blanketed in a cloud of gray and smoky haze...with a cold north wind, making it a day to stay indoors and try to keep cosy..but without lighting a fire and contributing to the smoke pollution! 

We do have electric heat in the living room of the main cottage so that is where I spent my day..wrapped in cosy blankets, reading, napping and chatting on the phone with my brother and my sister...commiserating about this sad state of affairs, comparing air quality index numbers - ours was rising again, but not as much as other places around the province... and remembering the days when we would look out and see a haze over the water, and know it was just mist or fog! Can't do that these days......

I did go out a couple times to try to get some photos, but there just wasn't anything inspiring...dull light, no contrast, no shadows, and not a creature was stirring...they knew better I guess, and had found a place to hunker down for the day.  

I tried again this evening - hoping for some interesting light near sunset time, but nada..so took a shot of the only thing that looked appealing..the cosy lighting inside the cottage...so much more appreciated when standing outside shivering in the cold and damp!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.