Today's the day

By sheilwill

Froglet

Today's the day ....................... to disturb

Lovely to get out in the garden this afternoon and do a bit of culling of some of the weeds that have thrived in the recent rain.  In so doing, I surprised a couple of creatures hiding in the lush undergrowth!

This tiny little froglet - only as big as my thumbnail - was one of them.  Perfectly formed and obviously ready for adventure, it was a long way from any of the ponds.  Such a treat to have frogs in the garden and a wonder of nature as to how they found their way there in the first place.

The other (see extra) was a moth, presumably one that flies in the night - and therefore not best pleased to be uncovered in the day time.  Fortunately, I had my camera to hand and managed a quick shot before it crawled away to find somewhere out of the sunlight.  I looked it up later in my Moth Book and I think it must be a Large Yellow Underwing (Noctua pronuba) - but stand to be corrected by you experts out there?  According to the book, this moth is very common in Britain and Europe - but more worryingly - its larvae feed on herbaceous plants and it is often a pest in gardens.

Ah well - win some, lose some .......................?!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.