Diarised

By Diarised

Snail Allium combo

I have been admiring these alliums for weeks. They were beautiful and purple and standing tall on my route back to the car from my office.  They have now faded to green and as I approached  I saw why I thought was a bee at first. I was thinking it was wasting its time and would have been better visiting a few weeks earlier but as I got closer I saw it was a snail!

Their stems seem so fragile so well done to the scaling snail!

In another nature surprise we had a visit in the library from a whopper of a moth. It was a male Privet Hawk moth. 
https://butterfly-conservation.org/moths/privet-hawk-moth

My colleague carefully caught it and gave it is freedom.  Because the library is open 24/7 we have had a lot of moths lately - all attracted by the lights but then trapped as we have silly windows which just open out from the bottom so they fly up and in and then can’t figure out how to escape.  Have a look at the big beaut in the extra.

I was very excited to see it - have never seen one before - or any moth as big as this.

Thank you for all your lovely comments and stars/hearts on yesterday’s prom pics.  Leo finally made it home at 6pm and was just about awake!  They got no sleep at the after party but he had managed a doze around 2pm when they had headed back to his girlfriend’s house to recover.  

He declared the prom itself a bit ‘meh’ but had a fabulous time at the after party.  A few lads were in a sorry state after too much booze and one or two had to get picked up and go home as they were so unwell.  Leo must have paced himself with just a drink or two as he said he felt just a little merry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.