biddy

By biddy

Mehndi patterned hands.

What a treat I had this morning!
(They are obviously not my hands)
I went to a local post office to collect a parcel. It wasn’t our usual post office.
There was no queue as I went to the counter. The lovely lady who searched for the parcel and then slid open one of the windows so she could hand it to me through the gap, had the most beautiful henna patterns on her hands.
I remarked about how intricately lovely they were, and she turned her hands over so I could see the palms, which were amazing. (I asked if I could take a photo), and went on to also ask if it had been for a special occasion and she told me her son had been married last Saturday. Then she said “I’ll show you the photos of the wedding” and got out her phone.
They were fabulous.
The bride’s dress was so colourful with ornate patterns and a beautiful head covering with a decorated edge.
Here’s a bit of information:
“For the ceremony, most brides wear a traditional lehenga or a saree wedding dress. Lehenga: an ensemble comprised of an elaborate (and often heavy) skirt, a cropped or long blouse called the choli, and a dupatta that is draped over the head or shoulders.”
I googled Hindu wedding attire when I got home. Lots of gorgeous photos.
We were chatting for ages (good job there were no customers!)
I was so touched that she showed me the photos of her handsome son and his beautiful bride.
Then herself and her husband, alongside some of the other fabulously attired guests.
I had not long stepped outside to walk to my car, when another lady who works there came running out to say I’d left my phone!
It felt so special somehow, being able to share those moments this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.