Dragonflies for breakfast

Edward and I stopped by the McKenzie Marsh this morning after popping in to a church yard sale and a community garage sale in Newmarket. Edward got a few books and I got some stuff including a bunch of mature plants for $2 for the lot! Mini irises, two ferns, columbine, and some vinca ground cover. What a deal!

We saw dozens of turtles in the water and on logs in the marsh. Edward posted a nice Midland Painted Turtle for his blip. There were mallards, a family of Canada geese paddling around, some dragonflies, a heron, several swallows, some bullfrogs (heard, not seen), and this female red-winged blackbird with two dragonflies in its beak. I guess they are breakfast for her chicks. She waited around for me to leave. I guess she didn't want me to see where her nest was. Smart bird. Be safe.

Warm today and a bit muggy but not as bad as the past two days. Quite windy so that's cooling things down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.