Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Comma on thistle

I had a long list of things to do today and was up early to get them done. When I woke up it was raining, I think it is the first time we have had rain in a few months. I decided to go get my chores done first and then walk Xena when the rain had stopped. 

First stop was Waitrose to get groceries for the weekend and the picnic lunch at Glyndebourne on Sunday. I like shopping at Waitrose as the staff are so friendly and polite, and there are never queues (unless its Christmas), so I am in and out very quickly. However today only two tills were open, and one of them was being operated by - I kid you not - a blind woman. Waitrose have a very strong company policy about employing disabled people, which I greatly admire, but I don't think a blind person is best suited on a till. Some customers moved off when they saw she was struggling, but I decided not be impatient and give her a chance. She had to have another staff member standing over her helping her identify products if it did not have a bar code on it, and to be fair she did rather well except she squeezed and touched all the fruit and veggies to identify them and I was inwardly getting a bit antsy about my fruit getting possibly bruised. So today it took forever to check out, but I thought it only fair to give her a chance. 

Then stationers, chemist and back home again to walk Xena. By now it was sunny and hot again. There were many butterflies flitting about after the rain, I did not have the right lens on my camera but managed to get this one of a Comma in it's habitat.

I changed the bedding and had three loads of washing, which now has to be ironed. Then I sorted my packing and outfits for tomorrow - a nice dress for Tommy's graduation as it is a formal occasion, the students have to wear suits for men and black skirts and white shirts for women - then an overnight bag as after the graduation we are staying with the other governors near the school - we have a black tie dinner tomorrow night, plus the concert from the leaving music scholars - and then another smart dress for Saturday for the final day of school and all those formalities. I am still trying to decide what to wear to Glyndebourne as they encourage one to dress up, eccentricity is encouraged! Meriel already plans her outfit months in advance, and has rented a dress (no point in buying a new dress every year). I also have to pack Xena's overnight stuff as she is going to Fiona tomorrow morning. 

Now another walk for Xena, then ironing, then cook supper....its a bit busy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.