MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Home grown

Saw a post yesterday about home grown potato bumper crops although no flowers on plants. I began to wonder about ours - I was waiting for the flowers to appear before harvesting but then I thought perhaps I was waiting for something that wasn't going to happen so decided to check. First couple of spuds were perfect size so we continued to empty the tub but there were a lot of very tiny ones which would have been better left a bit longer. We have left the other tub of spuds to grow a bit more. Shouldn't have panicked - should have stuck to my plan after the research I did! I suppose it doesn't only depend on the part of the country you live in and the weather but also which type of spud you are growing whether they are ready yet. 
Been for breast screening today and the lady was very good - last time I got a brutal woman! In fact, the last few times I drew the short straw with some sadists!
Mowed both lawns and swept up a load of stuff from the trees on the avenue - think they are tiny flowers - they are deep yellow and sticky, making a mess of our cars grrrr. There never looks to be a lot of these but I find I have to empty the dustpan lots of times. It will be as bad again tomorrow as more have already fallen! Terry used the electric lawn rake on both lawns once I'd mowed them - I'm glad he offered as I find it hard to do the mowing and raking in one day when it's hot and my arthritis is playing up.
Earlier today Terry had to go to get a prescription from Tesco and  went with him so I could have a look for a handbag. Wandered around like a lost soul trying to find the handbags which are usually near the shoes - couldn't even find the shoes. Seems Tesco no longer have handbags and shoes. To be honest I don't really need a handbag but I wanted to see if there was one I'd prefer to the one I am using.
Made an appointment for specsavers as I had a reminder my eye test is due soon. I hope they haven't left this cataract too long for referral as I don't want to find myself on a long waiting list and consequently, my eyesight deteriorating too much to drive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.