Seriously?

By MerrilHope

I'm Back!

The flight to Istanbul is only just over an hour, but it still managed to take nearly six hours to get door to door. Could have driven it in less. Oh well, I'm here now, staying in Alex''s apartment and teaching a two week Art course as part of the school's Summer Academy programme.  Surprised to find an overcast Istanbul, so it isn't my best photo of Gould Hall, which even in a sunless setting is still a magnificent sight.  Today's photo is almost identical to my 100th Blip, ten+ years ago (here). Interesting to note the differences in more than just the weather.

After greeting Nohut (family cat) with appropriate adoration on both sides, I then walked via Bizim Tepe (alumni club) to the nearest bakkal (general store, mini market) for basic provisions, followed by a much need cuppa back home.  Early evening I called Joe and we went in to Arnavutkoy for dinner. As it is Kurban Bayram (Eid al-Adha or the Feast of Sacrifice) many of the restaurants were closed, and we had to walk around to find somewhere to eat, especially as I don't eat meat, but Eylul cafe was open where we enjoyed a freshly made pizza with a beer, which is exactly what I wanted. 

Friends and colleagues since1999, Joe and I had lots to talk about after my year long absence, so after dinner we chatted for another hour at his place where I met his woofer Nano, before walking back to Nohut and a much needed early night. .  

So glad to be back 'home'. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.