Supper & travel

Lately I have started cooking my dinner (and weekend lunches as well) at home. I come back from work early and have plenty of time in hand. When alone, I keep it as simple as it can get. Steaming hot rice, lentils or a very simple veg curry and omlette. Sometimes, I add a little bit of butter on the hot rice and my meal is ready. Saves me the trouble of hunting for food outside or surviving on bread (not that I don't love them :)) and ready to eat noodles. How far this is going to continue, I don't know but till it lasts, I am going to savour every bit of it :)


My mom is glad that I am not surviving on 'junk' food anymore.
How can you call something edible 'junk'? :)


My parents told me yesterday that they're going on a trip to north east India. That part of the country is pretty much cut-off from the rest. Sadly, those 7 states (also known as 7 sisters) don't appear in a common man's scheme of things. I am sure most of the people won't even be able to name all the 7 states. They are on my list of must visit places though. But my parents beat me in the race. I am so glad and jealous at the same time. They have always been the traveling kind. After the two of us (I and my brother) left home following our lives and my dad got retired, the traveling thing has kicked in considerably in their lives. Not really sure whether they are drawing inspiration from my trips or is it the other way round. Whatever the case may be, I am so glad they are traveling and seeing places instead of just sitting at home and killing time. Sad that neither I nor my brother can join them for the trip but the least I can do is to pay for this wonderful trip. My dad has, for a lot of mine when I was a kid and was on trips from school and college.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.