FoundItAtLast

By FoundItAtLast

Vrooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmm

Yes, it's that time of the year again when the wonderful Jim Clark Rally comes to The Scottish Borders.

Due to work commitments I hadn't planned to go to any of my preferred stages so I set off for my nearest stage instead but found out it had been cancelled.

I hadn't bothered getting a map beforehand so didn't know what stages were running so I wound down the car window and headed east listening for distant loud engines.

During Jim Clark weekend as you travel from Kelso towards Berwick you'll see "road ahead closed" signs every so often so it was down one of these closed roads I headed, somewhere (I think) near the village of Foulden.

Eventually a row of parked cars told me I was in the right place so I got out of the car and followed the sound of the ferocious engines by climbing over a fence and heading through a muddy field until I reached a small forest just in time to see a red Ford Focus race past at over 100 mph.

I took out my camera and took about 100 pictures of all the following cars but they were all boring and almost exactly the same as the pictures I took last year. And the year before.

I don't usually experiment with photography. I've been a part-time sports photographer for over twenty years but usually I just have to supply action pictures of footballers which isn't too difficult.

Today I decided to try and catch one of the cars as it raced past about twenty feet from me whilst trying to keep my lens fixed on a post opposite. I must have taken over two hundred photographs but could not get even half of the car in the picture. Eventually I captured this picture but whilst it still isn't perfect it at least captures most of the car and shows its speed.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.