Everyday Life

By Julez

Flower Friday

Bit different today as I've not been to the hospital. I've been to my Dad's bungalow where I once again threw away food that had spoilt since he has been back in the hospital, along with tackling a few other jobs.

The spiders! Oh my God, the spiders! They take over if a property is unlived-in for any amount of time. There was the Banana Spider and the Bin Spider. Banana was small-medium sized and went unnoticed until I picked up the gone-off bananas. I thought they were mouldy but it turned out that they were covered in web - maybe cocoon for thousands of those creepy things. The spider was underneath and is still at large in the kitchen somewhere.

That was bad enough but I gave myself a pat on the back for remaining calm and not running outside screaming. I took the full bin-liner out to the bin where I met the Bin Spider. Its web was all I could see when I opened the bin - it covered the entire top. The spider itself was on the inside of the lid, and had this one been the Banana Spider I would have really freaked out and called the Army, thinking that it was some exotic one that had come over with the bananas - it was HUMONGOUS!! I dropped the heavy rubbish bag in and slammed down the lid sharpish.

This was the last of the jobs I'd intended to do and as I was dressed for the warm weather we'd had previously rather than the cool, drizzly conditions we had today I didn't fancy going for a walk through the countryside. My plan had been to watch the Test Match on my Dad's TV until I needed to go back to the station but I could not stay any longer where I knew spiders were lurking. I even forgot that I wanted to avail myself of some of the rhubarb from the garden!

 So I walked to the train station, stopping on the way to take this photo of one of the floral displays that have been set up around the village. There's a shelter on the platform so I wasn't out in the rain.

One of my tasks over there was to retrieve my Dad's spare watch and get a battery put in it as he said he'd lost his best one at the hospital somewhere - in fact he suspected a member of staff had stolen it (Which I doubted anyway...) But it turned out he had not taken the best watch in with him this time - it was at the bungalow! So I have brought it for him and will take it tomorrow when I visit.

He is medically cleared for discharge now, but they need to find enough carers to fulfil the four daily visits again before he can be sent home. In the meantime they need to find a respite place for him for however long it takes! 

I'm home now and there will be Rugby League on TV again tonight. Wigan have a game tonight too but are not the TV match unfortunately!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.