Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Frantic Friday

I don't know why today has seemed so tiring but I'm quite worn out.
I went into town to see the Declaration of Arbroath as the exhibit closes tomorrow. It felt like a real piece of history. Three copies from three different groups were sent to the pope and none of them survives which I found rather strange given the extent of the Vatican archives.
No photos are allowed of the exhibit itself, but I found this rather nice sculpture on the 5th floor at the top of the stair to the toilet (and perhaps to the restaurant too). I thought its position perhaps meant it wasn't well visited so I took a picture and here it is. Nymph and Faun by Charles Hodge Mackie. It is cast in lead so must weigh a phenomenal amount. It was originally the centrepiece of a fountain at the original Westerlea House at Murrayfield. More recently a school for children with additional support needs and an excellent resource at that. It has of course gone now.
It's rained most of today so was definitely a jacket day, I've also been cold and actually lit the gas fire this evening. It may just be because I'm tired.
I can't believe it's the end of June already, half way through the year,

Art Quiz link is here. 7 /10 for me
https://nationalgalleries.typeform.com/to/VwsJuOYJ?fbclid=IwAR37xfGOYbTUI2DcntCbkXt4DxpMuKE9ZM4W3CDmLgC9NU2gTKv4OSrD3Lc&typeform-source=lm.facebook.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.