Living my dream

By Mima

Inaugural Caerphilly

It's July already: how did that happen?

I made this Caerphilly four weeks ago and cut it this morning. It is possibly my favourite home made cheese yet. The nutty-flavoured rind has a firmness which contrasts beautifully with the creamy tangy interior.

It is however showing early development of a 'late bloom', which is when bacteria expand the cheese. If it's left too long a late bloom can make the cheese inedible, but I have caught it very quickly and the cheese smells and tastes absolutely perfect. 

I've not made any cheese for the last fortnight, and I'm revving up to make some tomorrow now that my brain seems to be back to normal. It will probably be a couple of Camemberts because they continue to be the best barters.

For the first day in two weeks I'm in undies and trousers again. Shingles has subsided to virtually nothing and I can tolerate clothes around my waist. I'm taking it easy for another few days. Just to be absolutely sure I'm better. 

It is a luxury to have the time to be able to get completely well before launching into life again. When I last worked in an office I felt I had to go back to work before I was 100% fit. I realised today that my reason for doing that was partly guilt about being away, but also it was partly to demonstrate to any doubting managers that I had actually been properly ill. That was particularly the case in my last (destructive) place of work, where management was micro, threatening at times, mistrustful and generally toxic. 

I'm so glad that life has moved on. 

Now my manager only requires that I feed her and walk her regularly - and provide endless unconditional love. She's the best manager ever!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.