NellyO

By NellyO

Veg progress

I'm really pleased with the progress of the veg in our little plastic greenhouse thingy - most of these in this tray are the brussels planted in April, which are growing really well, but the 3 plants on the bottom right (slightly duller green) are quinoa, which I'm so excited about! I'll be so chuffed if we get anything from them.

Other veg-related news of note: the beans and courgettes planted in April are growing well, and there are a few dwarf beans that I planted a couple of weeks ago just pushing through now. They're the same variety as the April beans that came up, so I shall have to assume that the other beans I planted are duds as they haven't come up on two attempts now. The March-planted brussels haven't died but they also haven't grown, so I'm going to give up on those. And the spinach beet seeds that I planted a couple of weeks ago are also coming up. Tomatoes are looking good, and over on Pete's side of the greenhouse there are loads of salad leaves coming up so we can hopefully start eating them soon.

Now we just need to sort out making a gate for our allotment and then we can start thinking about planting these out. We also need to build some frames for the beans.

Indoors, I potted on 3 plants that my colleague gave me the other week - a cape gooseberry which has bolted a bit, a chilli and a pepper. I can't wait for all this stuff to actually start producing lovely food!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.