KathyH58

By KathyH58

July 1

Happy Canada Day!
I decided to do the Truro to Pictou drive today, something different from what I normally do. I stopped at the Truro Farmers Market to get some strawberries, but no one had any left. Next I was going to take a walk at the rock garden, but the road going past the rock garden was closing at 10 am for a parade. I had to go back thru town to get to the highway, only to find out that the exit I wanted to take was closed for construction. So I had to get on the highway going back the way I had came from, take the next exit and circle back to where I wanted to go. Finally on the road towards Pictou. There is someone just west of Pictou that sells plants from their home, and they had them all 25 - 50% off starting today. Following the directions on their FB page, the road was blocked for another parade. Many of the small communities have a Canada Day parade. So I had to find my way back so I could come into town from another direction. I did find the place finally and bought quite a few plants.
I decided to take the old highway back to Truro, since I had not been thru that area for several years. There is a reason I don't go thru there often, it is mostly woods, no scenery for taking photos.
I went for a walk along the trail to the Butterfly Garden at Dal AC. When the Berlin Wall was taken down, some of the pieces were brought here and installed on the Dal AC Campus. This is the first time I have walked the trail to see them. Then I went and had a walk around the Rock Garden.
I did find one new market to stop at between Truro and Pictou. Whistleberry Market. They have fresh produce, meats, a deli, an eating area and lots of locally made items. I bought a jar of aioli and another one of chipotle BBQ sauce. I also bought a container of potato salad, I had some for supper and it is good potato salad. Still no strawberries.
After my walk at the rock garden I stopped at another market and they had lots of strawberries.
One more market I wanted to stop at on the way home because they have a nice garden center there. I picked up more plants for clients, plus some fresh veggies and fresh meat. They have some marinated chicken kabobs that I like.
All in all, a good day. There were even some breaks in the clouds in the Truro area. It was foggy when I left here this morning and cloudy when I got home. The fireworks that were scheduled for tonight were postponed to tomorrow night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.