YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Venice - day 9

Fin wanted to go back to bed this morning.  Said he hadn't slept well, but I suspect a surfeit of wine was more to blame! :-0)). So I decided to ride Vaporetto 2 round the top of the Grand Canal and then get off at The Biennale exhibition park. Didn't work out like that as due to some work on the side of the canal the boat was only going as far as Piazzale Roma.  I got off there, and having thought it was just an area for the bus station I decided to have a look around.  Found a lovely little park from where I could see all the comings and goings at the bus station and the train station and the old and super modern bridges connecting the two.  I then went to queue for Vaporetto number 1 to go back down past San Marco to my destination.  Just missed one so we were rammed in the holding area like cattle for 25 minutes - boy it was hot.  Luckily I was near to the front of the queue so shot onto the next boat  and out to the back to sit in the fresh air and take in the views.  Lots of photos taken (extras) including the house where Robbie Burns lived for a while in Venice, an ambulance on a mission, lovely buildings and gardens and the parcel deliveries care of a  DHL boat!  I walked around the park where this year the exhibitions are about architecture.  Some leaving the exhibition areas sounded to have enjoyed the experience, some not so much, so I decided not to bother paying 25 or 35 euros to look around the main site.  Instead I sat in the shade and read some of my book and enjoyed people watching.  Fin texted me after a couple of hours and said he was heading down on the vaporetto to meet me for lunch.  I walked up to The Arsenale stop and we met up and went to a nice little cafe there for refreshments.  Sadly the fascinating
maritime museum had closed so no escape from the heat.  Had a look at the frontage of the naval base then started to walk back to the hotel via San Marco. Somehow we went round in a big circle and ended up back on the waterfront. It was beginning to look rather stormy so we decided to get the vaporetto back instead. During our meal out tonight there was a quick shower if rain which sent some diners scuttling for cover.  I just sat under the gazebo outside squeaking every time there was a flash of lightning!  Glad to get back into the hotel, but a full on storm never arrived.
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.