Abbey .....

..... ruins.

After work this evening I had a cycle over to Bolton Abbey with Mr M. It was a lovely bike ride through beautiful countryside with lambs and calves frolicking in the fields and the smell of wild garlic and freshly cut grass filling the air. This photo was taken as Myself and Mr M were having a wander around Bolton Abbey ruins admiring the stonework and imagining what it must have been like to have been there in it's heyday.

Shortly after I arrived back home I had a call from my dad to let me know the sad news that his older brother had passed away at this evening. My dad is the youngest of eight siblings but uncle John was his only brother and despite there being a large age gap between them they have always been close.

My dad had travelled from London to be with John this afternoon and was there with his wife and daughter holding his hand as he passed away. I have a lot of aunts and uncles ( my mum is one of seven ) but Uncle John is the first to pass away, He had had a couple of bad strokes last year and his health and ability to do many things had deteriorated since so today's sad news wasn't unexpected, but doesn't make it any easier.

I only took a couple of photos on the bike ride and myself and Mr M were discussing how the graveyard in the Abbey grounds would be a nice spot to be laid to rest, so this photo seems the right one to choose, so today's blip is the .....


..... Abbey ruins.

o

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.