PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Just noticed

This picture has been on our wall all the time we have lived in this house and it probably hung on the wall in our previous house. I think I remember it being in my parents' house, but I am not sure. I don't really know where it came from, I just know that I was given it, probably by my mother when she moved, or I picked it up from her house when she died. 

I have never really taken that much notice of it, although it is on the landing and I walk past it a dozen times a day. Then today . . . I noticed that it was signed, whether it was the light or what I don't know, but I have never noticed this before. 

So I researched - W. J  Boyes 1903 is William Joseph Boyes, watercolour painter who lived in Bradford all his life 1847 - 1935. He taught in several schools and colleges in the area. He painted mostly landscapes, in a pastoral style popular in the late 19th and early 20th century. Apparently most of his paintings are in private houses, but they do occasionally sell at auction. There are a few available at the moment and they seem to sell, although not for millions sadly! 

I now have to try to figure out how this picture came to be in the family. I don't think my parents or grandparents were in the habit of buying pictures, but if this was a local scene, possibly somewhere like Bolton Abbey, then they might have decided to buy it. Perhaps they knew the artist as he seemed to live locally. My grandparents especially knew a lot of local people. I think I will do a bit of detective work. 

I took the picture off the wall to get it somewhere without reflections - bad idea as the back is covered in dust . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.