Eye to Eye

By HilarysView

Griffon Vultures …

… mainly in the fog this morning, a first for me, so very happy! Usually you see them midsummer circling in the thermals above the mountains too high up to take decent photos. At first I thought they were just part of the rocky pinnacle they were sitting on, then I thought they were 2 sleeping bouquetin before they sat up and I realised these were very big birds. Their wingspan is 2.6m, almost as big as the bearded vultures. The fog kept drifting in and they would hunch down again. As we were going out for lunch I couldn’t hang around in case they flew off for their lunch, but it was a privilege to see them from this angle and observe them for an hour. I think the one on the right is a female because they are bigger than the males but I can’t find any reference to the different colours of their ruffs. A few extras so you can see the ruffs, their outstretched wings and the hunched position, like rocks.

Hope you had a great weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.