stujphoto

By stujphoto

Birds in Flight

I thought I would have another shot at shooting birds in flight and take my own advice to use jpeg format rather than raw. I am not sure it helped as I was shooting at fine raw and the files are almost as big as the raw files. Today I was shooting from outside the house probably about 3 metres from the bird feeder. I tried to be economical by shooting in short bursts but at times I must have kept my shutter finger down for several sessions as I ended up with nearly 2500 images very few of which had birds an the wing, so they were a real headache to process. I remember I lingered for a long time on a goldfinch as I know these look quite spectacular in flight but I am afraid he/she did not move until I took my finger off the trigger. However even house sparrows have very striking marking in flight. I was quite surprised to find they are not averse to using another bird to piggy back their flight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.