Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Poser

I was out early looking for deer.  I usually drive passed the fields they often graze in but I haven't seen any for a few weeks.  My initial thought was to walk down a long disused footpath, thinking that they may be in an area of land set aside and where they would be undisturbed.  The fawns should have been born in the last month or so and I was aware how fiercely the females would protect them in the first few weeks.  However, I noticed a small group in another field, including what looked like a fawn at distance, so adjusted the plan and started to circle around to see if I could get close.

What I came across was the nursery herd of females, their young and the juvenile males, sporting new antlers in velvet.  I counted about 20 in total including six new fawns.  Getting close was difficult, though this squirrel didn't seem to be bothered at all by my approach and I couldn't resist capturing this portrait from only a few feet away.  I did manage to also get a shot of the hind and her fawn (see extra), but I was soon spotted and they headed off across the fields in double quick time.

As I drove back home a buzzard flew over the car, landing briefly on a branch above the road before realising I was heading in his direction so he carried on in front of me for about 100 yards.  A pity I can't drive and take photos at the same time!

To top it all I spotted a mature stag, in a field about a mile from the nursery herd.  This is quite typical of the behaviour of red deer, the mature males and females will only come back together for the rut in the autumn. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.